Former NUTS III Areas

The Nomenclature Territorial Units of Statistics (NUTS) III Areas in Northern Ireland have been equivalent to the 11 Local Government Districts since 1st January 2018. Prior to that, there were 5 NUTS-III Areas in Northern Irelands, that were aggregates of the former 26 Local Government Districts:

  1. Belfast - Belfast LGD

  2. Outer Belfast - Carrickfergus, Castlereagh, Lisburn, Newtownabbey, and North Down

  3. East of Northern Ireland - Antrim, Ards, Ballymena, Banbridge, Craigavon, Down, and Larne

  4. North of Northern Ireland - Ballymoney, Coleraine, Derry, Limavady, Moyle, and Strabane

  5. West and South of Northern Ireland - Armagh, Cookstown, Dungannon, Fermanagh, Magherafelt, Newry and Mourne, and Omagh

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Creation Date January 9, 2019, 15:47 (UTC)
Topic Category
  • Imagery / Base Maps / Earth Cover
  • Inland / Waters
  • Location
  • Society

Boundary file has been created from the 26 Local Government Districts (LGDs), by dissolving the bounderaries between pairs of LGDs that lie within the same NUTS III area.

Frequency of Update Not Planned
Contact Name Dr Jos IJpelaar
Contact Email
Additional Information
Visibility False
comments powered by Disqus