Special Areas of Conservation

Special Areas of Conservation (SACs) are strictly protected sites designated under the EC Habitats Directive. Article 3 of the Habitats Directive requires the establishment of a European network of important high-quality conservation sites that will make a significant contribution to conserving the 189 habitat types and 788 species identified in Annexes I and II of the Directive (as amended). The listed habitat types and species are those considered to be most in need of conservation at a European level (excluding birds). Of the Annex I habitat types, The Habitats Directive is implemented in Northern Ireland through The Conservation (Natural Habitats, etc.) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 1995 as amended by The Conservation (Natural Habitats,etc.) (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2004 and The Conservation (Natural Habitats etc.) (Amendment) Regulations (Northern Ireland) 2007.

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Creation Date October 4, 2016, 10:57 (UTC)
Topic Category
  • Environment
  • Transportation

In Northern Ireland early SAC external boundaries were mapped on hardcopy Ordnance Survey NI sheets and in 2001 GIS was adopted as a means of generating ASSI maps against digital Ordnance Survey NI basemaps. Note: Ordnance Survey NI is part of Land & Property Services.

Frequency of Update Irregular
Contact Name NIEA NED Evidence Team
Contact Email NIEA.GIS@daera-ni.gov.uk
Additional Information


Visibility False
comments powered by Disqus